Music Education: The Diphthong

rose and kA diphthong is two different vowel sounds that “glide” together, as in the case of the words cow (CAH-oo), eye (AH-ee), and my personal favorite, light (LAH-eet).  Admit it, you’re practicing those words right now, aren’t you?! I knew it!

Diphthongs present an easily remedied problem for unison singing.  I mentioned earlier that unification of vowel sounds is crucial in choral singing, initially more important than making sure consonants are articulated.  Right now is not the time to discuss breath control; to be sure, it plays an important role in the formation of vowels, but we’ll talk about that later.

To the unintiated, giving the second portion of a diphthong equal time (or more, depending on the length of the note) to the first vowel sound is very common.

Let’s take the word “light” (it is my favorite diphthong, after all).  All too often, it is sung as “lah-eeeeeeeeeeet“.  It’s a simple fix: everytime a word containing a diphthong is sung, concentrate on the first vowel sound: “laaaaaah” keep it pure and then, just as the duration of the note comes to an end, just hint at the second vowel sound: “LAAAAH-eet“.  As a matter of fact, you might even direct your choir to ignore the second part of the diphthong altogether, and go directly to the consonant without it.  Hence, “light” now becomes “laaaaaaht“.  Your audience will certainly hear the word “light“, and your choir will have a nice, unified tone.

Remember just “hint” at the second part of a diphthong,  and a very messy phrase will instantly clean up very well.

Ooh, by the way, never, NEVER sing a diphthong as two separate vowel sounds when the word is sung in two or more pitches; keep the first vowel pure over the slurred notes, and then just hint (or ignore – up to you) at the end.  A great example is the word “Hour”; too often it is sung “Ah – wer” over two notes.

Next time:   Avoiding sloppy consonant combos!  See you then.

 

Thanks to all the supportive comments below!

16 Responses to “Music Education: The Diphthong”


  1. 1 Erin October 19, 2009 at 3:46 PM

    One of my favorite words from music ed. I love the new blog. Some great refresher information for those of us who have not been in a class in about 10 years. I’m also going to pass on to a young friend who will be in her senior year of music ed next year.

    Thank you for the link!

  2. 2 shello11 October 20, 2009 at 6:34 AM

    Thanks, Erin. Dipththongs hold a special place in my heart; I find them extremely irritating when sung incorrectly, but the good news is they are so easy to fix! All it takes is someone to point it out, and I admit that I need to be coached when bad habits break through….

  3. 3 Fashion Blog December 21, 2012 at 1:42 PM

    Hello there, I found your web site by the use of Google at the same time as searching
    for a comparable topic, your site came up, it appears great.
    I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hello there, just turned into alert to your blog through Google, and located that it’s truly informative. I am gonna be careful for brussels. I’ll be grateful when
    you continue this in future. Numerous folks will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  4. 4 Click for source April 27, 2013 at 3:50 AM

    Hi i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anyplace,
    when i read this article i thought i could also create comment due to this sensible article.

  5. 5 shello11 April 27, 2013 at 4:50 AM

    I’m so sorry to get back to you at this late date…your comment never reached my inbox, so I just saw it this minute.

    You mention “brussels…I didn’t remember it, so I read the Diphthong blog over again; I don’t see where I mentioned “brussels”..can you clear this up for me? Now you’ve got me going…

  6. 6 http://blognapoli1926.altervista.org May 26, 2013 at 10:38 AM

    Remarkable! Its genuinely remarkable paragraph, I
    have got much clear idea concerning from this piece of
    writing.

  7. 7 http://www.mlcfreunde.de/ June 2, 2013 at 11:51 PM

    Excellent beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your web site,
    how can i subscribe for a blog web site? The account aided me a acceptable deal.
    I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear idea

  8. 8 shello11 June 4, 2013 at 2:57 AM

    I’m not sure I quite understand your request, but it was very easy to get this blog. Go to <a href="http://wordpress.org&quot; , and they will easily walk you through the process.

  9. 9 Online Degree Colleges July 2, 2013 at 12:48 PM

    What’s up friends, good paragraph and fastidious urging commented here, I am genuinely enjoying by these.

  10. 10 http://support.jaynescorp.com May 22, 2014 at 2:43 PM

    Admiring the time and energy you put into your site and detailed information you offer.
    It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t
    the same unwanted rehashed material. Fantastic read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding
    your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  11. 11 shello11 May 22, 2014 at 3:42 PM

    Lovely to hear that you enjoy this…a comment like yours makes me know I am reaching somebody. Thank you!

  12. 12 SEWER Metal October 1, 2015 at 10:33 AM

    I shared your post 96 however it seems your WP theme doesnt show up well under the browser Demonecromancy I had to use Firefox… hope it is fixed ! https://bestblackmetal.wordpress.com/2015/09/23/sewer-the-most-satanic-black-metal-band-ever/

  13. 13 shello11 October 1, 2015 at 5:10 PM

    I am not familiar with that browser…I hope it works!

    M

  14. 14 Alpha October 28, 2018 at 8:38 PM

    When someone writes an post he/she keeps the image of a user
    in his/her brain that how a user can understand it.
    Thus that’s why this piece of writing is perfect.
    Thanks!

  15. 15 WORST SITE EVER November 6, 2018 at 4:22 PM

    We absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your post’s to be precisely what I’m looking for. Would you offer guest writers to write content for yourself? I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on a number of the subjects you write in relation to here. Again, awesome web site!

  16. 16 Danny Osterhagen July 28, 2020 at 11:56 AM

    Hello everyone, it’s my first pay a quick visit at this site, and paragraph is truly
    fruitful in support of me, keep up posting these types
    of articles or reviews.


Leave a comment




Michelle Mayer

Thank you for joining me on Adventures in Music Ed. Here I'm going to show you great music education products, give you tips on either teaching or learning note reading and music theory, show you the downlow on historical music figures and icons, and of course, write articles (cautionary tales!) about events and experiences to educate and entertain. Check out the "About Michelle Mayer" tab above to hear samples from my CD.

Blog Stats

  • 14,276 hits

Blog Posts

October 2009
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031