Confused about Latin Pronunciation?

I thought I was pretty good at singing church Latin, but I was admonished by a choir member who taught classical Latin in the past for teaching incorrectly. This disturbed me, and I was actually afraid to do anything in Latin! I mean, I was pretty sure I was right, but still…I admit I don’t know everything…

Then another choir member put my mind at rest by this post:

“The EWTN network has a website, and they address the issue.  Maybe [the Latin teacher] would accept that as a source.”

“A characteristic difference would be the pronunciation of regina coeli. In Classical Latin the “g” is hard and the “c” sounds like “k”. In Ecclesiastical Latin, which is defined as: Latin spoken as Italian would be pronounced in Rome, the “g” is soft and the c has a “ch” sound.”

You can view the rest of it here:

http://www.ewtn.com/expert/answers/ecclesiastical_latin.htm

So, my classical Latin friend was correct, but only in her milieu; what singers have learned is correct in ours. Give the website a look, if you’re concerned; the vowel pronunciations are great if you’re learning or teaching how to sing a diphthong.

0 Responses to “Confused about Latin Pronunciation?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




Michelle Mayer

Thank you for joining me on Adventures in Music Ed. Here I'm going to show you great music education products, give you tips on either teaching or learning note reading and music theory, show you the downlow on historical music figures and icons, and of course, write articles (cautionary tales!) about events and experiences to educate and entertain. Check out the "About Michelle Mayer" tab above to hear samples from my CD.

Blog Stats

  • 14,276 hits

Blog Posts

October 2011
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31